HomeInsightsGovernment announces sanctions against Russian media


On 31 March 2022, the Government announced 14 new sanctions on Russian propagandists and state media who spread lies and deceit about Putin’s illegal invasion of Ukraine. This includes Sergey Brilev, famous TV anchor on Russia state-owned media Rossiya and propagandist for Putin. Having previously lived in the UK, Brilev will no longer be able to access any of his UK assets or continue business dealings.

The Government has also directly sanctioned state media organisations, targeting the Kremlin funded TV-Novosti which owns RT, formerly Russia Today, and Rossiya Segodnya, which controls news agency Sputnik.

The Government says that, following Ofcom’s decision to revoke RT’s broadcasting licence, these sanctions will ensure RT will not be able to find its way back on UK televisions, and will prevent companies and individuals operating in the UK from doing business with Russian state propaganda vehicles RT and Sputnik, and key figures in those organisations. To read the Government’s announcement in full, click here.